LBYADV2 Portfolio

I finished the second and last LBYADV2 course last term and again it was my favorite subject ❤ In this course we learned how to use Adobe Illustrator and Photoshop to create logos, posters, etc. We also made use of more traditional mediums to create our work such as paper cut-outs and pastels.

My prof was Nina Poblador and I have to say, she’s hard to please. Receiving a positive comment on your work is so satisfying since she can be quite the critic. It’s not a bad thing because it pushed me to not deliver half-baked work. Despite having a challenging prof, I really loved this class because it was a break from all my business subjects last term (which were painful). So here it is, my work from LBYADV2!

Monograms

If I remember right the very first thing we made were our personal monograms. We sketched out 3 monograms each and traced them on Illustrator, mine was “RP” (Riah Padilla).

 

Monogram Mock Event Posters

We then picked 1 monogram and used that to create 4 mock event posters. My favorite designs would be Running Party and Regional Pusoy (bc I luv pusoy dos).

 

Big Eyes Movie Interpretation

We watched the film Big Eyes, “a drama about the awakening of painter Margaret Keane, her phenomenal success in the 1950s, and the subsequent legal difficulties she had with her husband, who claimed credit for her works in the 1960s.” (via IMDb) I recommend watching the film even if you’re not into art, you will feel a lot of things like betrayal, pity and hopefulness.

After watching the film we were to interpret “Big Eyes” negatively and positively using paper cut-outs and an illustration board.

On the black side of the board (negative) I cut-out an image of a blindfolded girl with large lips. The message here is that we’re deceived by flowery words in the film.

On the white side (positive) I created a human icon with an eye as a head and a heart on its chest. I wanted to portray a supporter or viewer of the artist’s work who loves and relates to the piece created.

 

Apichatpong Weerasethakul Inspired Artwork

Under Ms. Poblador we had to attend various talks as part of our requirements. One of them was a talk by a Thai filmmaker and artist, Apichatpong Weerasethakul. He held a public talk at the CSB-SDA theatre and opened his exhibit inside MCAD-Manila.

Using his talk and exhibit as inspiration, we had to create a drawing using pastel. Since a lot of his work centered on sleeping and dreaming, I decided to draw myself  with my eyes closed.

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset
Reference photo
New Doc 2017-04-14_1.jpg
Final artwork

Infographic

We attended another talk by Escuela Taller, a vocational training center that teaches the youth how to restore heritage sites and structures. Based on the talk we had to create an infographic with a partner. Below is the infographic my partner and I made:

Escuela Taller-01

 

Textures

This is the most hassle output of all— the damn textures. Going around DLSU to find “textures” was not that easy. We needed 20 textures approved by our prof which meant you had to take like 40. Then we edited the photos onto a “swatch board” with matching fonts. Here are my textures:

Taftbound Cover

My favorite output of the term: Taftbound Cover. For the final project we had to create a cover page with our partners to use in our portfolio.

We watched an episode of Abstract: The Art of Design featuring Christoph Niemann, an illustrator. You have to watch it, his work will literally make you go “oh my gosh, that’s so cool!” Here’s some of them:

Source and his website here: Christoph Niemann

His work is quirky, fun, loud— based on these characteristics we had to combine my partner and I’s monograms to create a cover. Both of our monograms are below:

 

With a lot of discussion, tinkering and imagining we were able to create this beauty:

Taft Bound Cover (Ver2)-01.jpg

I just love it. Spot both our monograms! I love his eyes, head and posture— like he’s looking back with a “wha-?” expression without needing anything else like eyebrows or a mouth. Really proud of this one. Shout out to my partner, Louis!

That sums up LBYADV2 from 2nd term— I already miss it since this term I have no creative class 😦 Looking forward to my more artsy classes in the following terms (bc accounting sux).

Thank you for reading, have a great day ahead!

 

 

Leave a Reply

